A Hindu Priest Blesses a Motorcycle

India 13-14 381

Hindu Priest Blesses Motorcycle

India has the ability to stop you in your tracks to the extent that you can even forget what you were doing or where you were going. This is just what happened to me when I passed this Hindu priest in south India. I know that Hindu priests bless all kinds of things like new homes and new offices but when I walked by a small temple and  saw a priest out front making a full puja over this brand new motorcycle, I had to smile, stop and ultimately walk away impressed.

India 13-14 386

Priest with Offerings of Coconut and Bananas

Motorcycle with Flower Garland

Motorcycle with Flower Garland

"Passion"

“Passion”

As an eye-witness to this curious event, my respect for Hinduism’s flexibility deepened. And as one of the world’s oldest faiths, Hinduism is not in any danger of becoming obsolete with its astounding capacity to adapt to contemporary life and serve its followers. Vroom! Vroom! Om Shanti!

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in Hinduism, india, photography, South India, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Hindu Priest Blesses a Motorcycle

  1. Even though I live in India it also still amazes me. You were in the right place at the right time !! :-)

Leave a Reply

