Moving Through Water or swimming at the Pitt St. Pool

Summer is for swimming. Here in NYC the season that the city pools are open is all too brief. I make the trek over to the Pitt St. pool at least 2-3 a times a week. Though it’s far from the tropics, it’s a bit of heaven.

Mon-Fri from 7-8:30 pm the pool is divided into 3 sections with lanes for lap swimming for adults only.  The sections are for slow and beginners, medium fast and fast to pro swimmers. Though I am a competent swimmer and can easily swim the length of the olympic size pool with ease, I chose to swim in the slow section. The medium and fast sections seem to have a very serious feel to them…no monkey business allowed. I admit, I’m a monkey biz kind of swimmer. Oh, I take my laps very seriously, but I love to hang around the pool wall floating and twisting and gazing up at the dusky sky. This isn’t done by “serious” swimmers. So I must contend myself with dealing with the phobics and slow pokes. Sometimes I have to laugh because many of them are quite humorous.

There’s one guy who looks quite athletic but I don’t think he knows how to swim. Instead, he speed walks the length of the pool. Sometimes he even walks backwards. He’s walked into me on occasion. I’m good natured and enjoy the humor of it.

There’s a lovely Chinese couple who’ve been coming recently. My guess is that they are in their late 30’s or early 40’s. They make a handsome team with their smooth, porcelain complexions. They seem in love. The man hovers over the woman while she paddles with a kickboard. Sometimes he carries her and he touches her tenderly while she paddles. It almost feels as if I’m in the middle of a beautiful Chinese art film…or a backstreet bathhouse.

There are so many little stories and dramas unfolding all around the pool. Once a pretty, young African  American woman was hanging near the wall watching me swim. She wasn’t dressed for laps, but rather for an elegant beach party with a black and white check bikini trimmed in patent leather. She even had huge white sunglasses on, not very practical for lap swimming. As I passed her, she practically stuck her face into my mouth because she was really trying to figure out how I breath while swimming. It was the first time I smiled at someone and took in air at the same time. Not easy!

When I finally stop observing the people and concentrate on the laps, I enter another world. I am a fish, a pelican and a mermaid all in one. I am one with the water. It is the great womb that supports me. And most of us there are united in this love of moving through water. Another miracle.

 

 

 

 

 

c

 

 

 

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moving Through Water or swimming at the Pitt St. Pool

  1. suz says:

    v.enjoyable

  2. Lalo says:

    Dearest Nina

    Finally found your blog and , of course, we are thrilled with your writing…A good writer has you at the beginning…You do that…I also love your relaxed style…It is like you…laid back, fun and interesting…I like to read things that make me feel warm and human…and humorous…Thank you…Love Lalo

    • ninagrandiose says:

      dear lalo

      thanks for reading my blog..after all, what is the written word worth if no one reads it…and enjoys it? yeah, i’ll keep after it. it’s a challenge that i do enjoy too. thanks again. tu amiga, nina

Leave a Reply

