resisting technology or keeping up with my cursor

i resisted technology for so long but finally capitulated with reluctance. first i got a cell phone. that went smoothly, though i nearly got thrown out of a broadway theatre when it rang near the end of wonderful play. i am conditioned to think that red means stop and green means go. it didn’t occur to me that you turn your phone on by hitting the red key.now i know better.

next i got cable tv. that had to do with everything going digital. i dislike having to pay for tv. i was given a defective remote. i couldn’t  get the darn thing to turn on. it never occured to me that the remote was faulty. having been out of it for so long, i just assumed that my ignorance was at play. i turned the tv on manually for weeks until a friend hit me over the head.

i soon realized that i knew even less than i thought so i signed up for a digital photography class at cooper union.  the same week i had bought my first computer and cell phone. though i am artistic, learning digital photography doesn’t call upon one’s artistic nature for quite some time. it was very apparent from the first class that i was the class dummy. i was determined and as i saw many of my classmates drop out, i stayed in there. but it was a frustrating struggle.

the irony of those classes was that we were basically learning to correct all the mistakes that digital cameras make. seems ass backwards to me. so now i understand that my camera can’t easily focus or read light and i have to compensate. i wish someone would compensate for all that i can’t do.

the computer deserves a special chapter. it sat there for awhile. i’d check my email and occasionally browse and research subjects of interest. i signed up for twitter because it seemed responsible for the revolution in iran. if a website could do that, i wanted in. well, that was as far as i got. i could never navigate through it and gave up.

about the same time that i wanted to call myself a writer, i read that if you’re a writer you must have a blog. it took me ages to sign up and i still can’t easily access the website and no one  i know seems to be able to find my blog. and my  sister said, ” what’s the point? if no one can find you, you might as well be on f acebook.” so i got a facebook account.

i am a bit of an anti-social loner. i didn’t understand that every one i ever didn’t want to come

across is on facebook, including my x husband, though he’s actually a decent man. (i’m also a lousy typist and my cursor is faster than my adled brain.) i tried adding some photographs that i took in my class to my facebook account. i was thrilled when two of them popped up, but for some unknown reason i couldn’t get the third one up. i keep going back but nothing doing. my sister tells me to be patient. at this rate, i may soon be one in bellevue!

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to resisting technology or keeping up with my cursor

  1. ninagrandiose says:

    HI NINA, THIS IS YOUR FAITHFUL SISTER, CONGRATULATING YOU ON FIGURING HOW TO USE YOUR BLOG. i GOT TO IT IMMEDIATELY. i LOVE YOUR BLOG ABOUT TECHNOLOGY..i AM SO IMPRESSED WITH HOW FAST YOU ARE BECOMING MY SISTER THE NERD!

Leave a Reply

