The Flavor of India

While sitting in a favorite restaurant in New Delhi, awaiting my thali for lunch, I perused the Delhi Times. The usual subjects were splashed across the pages, local elections and the cricket matches between India and Australia took precedence. Cases of dengue fever and swine flu were duly noted as well. One advert, as they are called here grabbed my attention.

It was for a luxury day spa called Asian Roots offering botox injections at a 50% discount. I took a double take when I saw this add.

No one knows better than I do how quickly India is changing but botox? I felt mixed emotions. Maybe I can get some good anti-aging treatments here at half the price but saddened too. Here in India, where the elders were always highly revered and respected is now also being invaded by a  superficial youth culture.  I brush it off as part of the global movement. Why should India remain immune to it? I am forced to accept so many changes and losses as the world shrinks and cultural differences recede.

Of course, many things here in India are better. The people are so much healthier. Small pox and leprosy are essentially eradicated. Women have entered the workplace in droves and there’s a middle class that never existed before. But oh the price my sweet India is forced to pay.

I shrugged my shoulders and turned the page. My thali arrived. Well, I very much doubt that Indians will give up their luscious cuisine, though there are more fast food joints around than ever.  I picked up my spoon and spread a bit of lemon pickle on my cumin scented rice and let the flavors of India take over. I do not want to resist what is. I want to savour it all.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in india, loss of cultural identity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

