It’s Fenugreek to Me: A Panacea for What Ails You

Recently I was on the phone relating an incident to an Indian friend. I said,  ” You know, I think that I am experiencing my first old age ache and pain.” I’ve been blessed with good health and have arrived at this point with little distress but the twinge in my hip that comes and goes is now hard to ignore.  My friend started to tell me about an older Indian woman friend of hers who takes fenugreek daily to eliminate the aches and pains associated with arthritis. She swears by this and my friend says that she is living proof that it is effective. I asked my friend for the recipe. I happen to have some fenugreek seeds in my cupboard and followed her instructions. I measured out 1 tablespoon of the golden-colored seeds, dropped them into an 8 oz glass of water and allowed them to soak overnight. The following morning, I strained them, saved the used seeds and drank the lightly colored water. It didn’t taste medicinal, in fact, it has a pleasant flavor. Some say it tastes like maple syrup with a hint of celery. I re-soaked the used seeds and drank the water in the evening. I am now doing this every day and night.

Within two days the pain in my hip all but vanished. Maybe it is the result of the power of positive thinking or the placebo effect. I don’t really know. The pain is gone. That is real. I started to read about fenugreek. This is what I found:

Fenugreek was used in India and China for centuries and is beginning to gain recognition in the West. Fenugreek is used to treat:

Type 1 & 2 Diabetes

Promote Heart Health-may help to prevent cardiovascular disease

Aid Digestion,  Constipation, Heartburn & help with Reflux-help to prevent colon cancer

Increase Male and Female Libido

Reduce Skin Inflammation, including Eczema, Gout, Boils and Burns

Ease Flu Symptoms, Fever & Sore Throat

Treat Menopause-Reduce Hot Flashes & Insomnia

Treat Anemia

Hair Loss & Dandruff

Asthma & Bronchitis

Induce Labor

Help to Enlarge Breasts

Suppress Appetite

It does sound unbelievable. I am so blown away by what I’ve read that I just have to share this with you. I don’t want to get too scientific because I am not a scientist. But you should know that the seeds contain protein, vitamin C, niacin, potassium and diosgenins, the compound that is similar to estrogen. Other active ingredients are alkoloids, lysine and L-tryptophan. It is also considered as a very powerful source of antioxidants and is one of the richest sources of phytoestrogens available.

There are many different ways to take fenugreek: making a tea, grinding up the seeds and making a paste and soaking the seeds as I mentioned, just to name a few. Sometimes I use the fenugreek water in cooking. I’ll add it to my rice water or in soup or couscous and cook with the already soaked seeds too. I am in awe of nature’s bounty and all the gifts that nature bestows on us.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in Health, india, Natural Cures, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Fenugreek to Me: A Panacea for What Ails You

  1. gopivictoria says:

    Wow! Thanks for sharing all the info you uncovered. It’s amazing how these ancient healing remedies are out there and so few people are aware of them. Spread the good news! Enjoyed catching up on earlier spots too.. I’m a follower! xo

  2. ninagrandiose says:

    Thanks for stopping by, commenting and for following. It is important that we don’t dismiss the plant compounds that so many of our chemical medicines mimic as not being effective treatments for what ails us.

Leave a Reply

