Sleeping Merchant

Sleeping Merchantcropped-382.jpgIndia’s omnipresent “sleepers” can accost the visitor in a huge variety of situations. The wide boulevard, Grand Road, that leads from the Jagannath Temple complex in Puri is lined with endless souvenir and trinket stalls that cater to the thousands of Hindu pilgrims who flock here from all over India. Puri is one of the Char Dham, the four abodes of the gods that every Hindu aspires to visit at least once in their lifetime.

As in other sacred places in India like Varanasi and Rishikesh, Puri is charged with intensity and religious fervor. There’s no better place to witness this than on the Grand Road. After a visit to the temple, the pilgrims gather in large groups and stroll the length of this broad boulevard, stopping in front of the stalls, carefully selecting their mementos. When I came across this merchant fast asleep in his stall, I was very much taken aback and couldn’t resist capturing another “sleeper” in repose.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in india, photography, Shopping, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleeping Merchant

  1. annetbell says:

    I have nominated your blog for the “Shine On” award for blogging. Please accept this honor in recognition of your excellent blog. Visit the site at the end of this message to read the rules and responsibility of accepting this award.

    Smile. . . . .namaste. . . .. .Anne Bell

    Talesalongtheway.com/2013/06/22/shine-on-award/

  2. annetbell says:

    Very Inspiring Blogger Award Nomination
    I have nominated your blog for this award. I sincerely hope you will accept and then nominate and encourage other inspiring blogs. Please read the rules and responsibilities on the link below. Keep up the great writing and photography.
    Namaste. . . .. Anne. . . .Smile
    talesalongtheway.com/2013/06/25/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

