Roadside Story

Image

Sitting Quietly

In India, respecting (or tolerating) one’s elders is still taught and practiced today as depicted in this series of photographs that I captured while sitting across the street in a small town in south India.

Image

An Elder Arrives

A young girl is sitting in front of her house when an older man steps out from next door. Maybe he is a neighbor or maybe he is her grandfather. He does seems to have it in for her. It appears as if this scene is familiar to both of them. Immediately the mood changes and it registers on the girl’s face.The man seems to derive displeasure from the girl’s youth and her mere presence disturbs him. And she knows his troublesome ways. He menaces her. She demurs. For all her youth, she skillfully handles his aggressive manner with tolerance, not taking him too seriously. I suspect that down deep she thinks that he is an old fool – as seen through her smile. Naturally, all this is conjecture but every picture tells a story.

Image

Oh No!

 

 

Image

A Confrontation

Image

A Wining Smile

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in adventure, india, photography, South India, Travel, Uncategorized, Village Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Roadside Story

  1. Wanderers says:

    Hi… good post….

  2. pendoc48 says:

    Wonderful story and photos!!!!

  3. ninagrandiose says:

    Thanks, Ed. I’m grateful for your presence and comments. Blogging is after all, about being read and being seen….and you have been there for me.

  4. josna says:

    Love this! The little girl’s expression is priceless–good for her! You seem to be able to capture those almost-intimate moments without being intrusive. that’s quite an art.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Thank you. A female behind the lens tends to be less obtrusive than a guy’s presence might be and I use that to my advantage, observing the mish mash that is the human condition.

  5. whereisshyamni says:

    Good capture! And interesting perspective. It could also have been that he was telling her to be off to school (I see a backpack!) and she just couldn’t care less! Either way…very nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

