Watching the World Go By

Watching the world go by and enjoying a moment of leisure from the steps or porch of one’s home is a common and popular pastime all over India and the world over but in the west it is almost a forgotten pleasure. Time nearly stands still as a man reads the newspaper on the steps outside of his home, oblivious to his surroundings.

This view that there is enough time to do everything and that there is enough time to enjoy and relax in the moment is very appealing to many of us in the west who are constantly watching the clock and rushing here and there but simply cannot afford to take the time to sit on the porch and contemplate infinity.

Image

Savoring the Moment

Image

The Nap

Image

The View From Above

Image

A Child Wonders

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Watching the World Go By

  1. I love your observations of the little things. One thing I would suggest is that you head to Spain, the squares are full of Old men sitting with their backs to the wall watching the world go by. Great blog!

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Yes, it is in the details that makes things interesting. Would love to go back to Spain but for now India and Mexico and NYC take up most of my time. Hasta pronto,

  2. Dave says:

    Love it! In the American South the front porch used to be a major focal point of the culture. Many still appreciate the front porch, but my sociology teacher in high school said that air-conditioning brought an end to that front-porch culture in America.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Thanks, Dave. That’s an interesting fact about AC. AC isn’t so ubiquitous in India as it is in the US…for now, anyway.

  3. It is one of the things I so love about India…watching the world go by 🙂 a skill we should all learn. Thank you for this lovely post ~ Lakshmi x

  4. Eyes everywhere. It’s reassuring to watch the activities of the neighborhood – the neighbor who blasts his music from 7-7:30 every morning, the construction workers and maids filing in at 9, the garbage pickers, etc. 🙂 Even though that man is absorbed in his newspaper I’m sure he doesn’t miss a beat.

  5. 1createblogs says:

    Hi there I like your post

  6. pamela arthur says:

    I guess I didn,t reply above the right line and now am told my words to you are awaiting moderation!

  7. whereisshyamni says:

    Ahhhhh yes….the Indian nap! Good captures!

Leave a Reply

