The Dashing Men of Kutch

The alluring men of the remote, desert region of Kutch in western India are often neglected because their counterparts, the women, are so colorfully attired and heavily ornamented that in comparison, the men fade into the background the way a gray female bird might. Though less flamboyant, there is definitely something very appealing about the Kutchi men. Before these men had a chance to straighten up and pose, I clicked this. The camaraderie that these men share is apparent in their ease and physical closeness. Their appeal is in their expressions as smiles form and spread across their faces and their eyes too,  begin to sparkle.

A Man"s World

A Man”s World

A Majestic Presence

A Majestic Presence

This man has a proud and regal bearing. He smiles with confidence but without arrogance. He knows that he is handsome but he is not vain. He looks like the stuff of Hollywood legends and that is the source of his enormous appeal.

Flaming Beard

Flaming Beard

I find myself drawn to this man for all the opposite reasons that I am drawn to the other men. This man is not handsome though he looks used to commanding and being in charge. He cares enough about his appearance to color his white hair and seems comfortable with the attention that such dramatic coloring can produce, though in India, the use of mehendi, the natural dye that he used, is commonplace but it still demands your attention. He has a kindly smile but he does make me think of a character out of Dickens.

Lounging Man with Cow

Lounging Man with Cow

This man’s charm is found in his relaxed, laissez-faire attitude. He is caught off guard, taking it easy. It seems as if he has labored long and hard and believes that this moment of leisure is well deserved. He makes no effort to change his posture for the camera. He seems easy-going, slow to anger and harmonious with his surroundings.

I have spent many, many years living and working in this region. It is without a doubt, one of my most favorite places in all of India. It is like going back in time when India lived up to her reputation for legendary hospitality, unguarded smiles abound, the desert landscape harsh, alcohol forbidden and the alluring Kutchi men compelling enough to warrant my return again and again.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in adventure, india, Kutch, photography, Travel, Uncategorized, Village Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dashing Men of Kutch

  1. SilentScream says:

    hi…Nina
    fascinated to see my motherland your eyes…
    I am from kutch….
    Thanks for your complements about it…
    Visit again soon….

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Hello SilentScream,
      Am pleased, honored and flattered that you visited and commented. Hope that the fascination continues. I love India and adore Kutch.

Leave a Reply

