Dear Esteemed Reader

Dear Esteemed Reader,

Never mind that my skin is covered in a dense sheet of insect bites, each one encrusted with wine colored scabs that I cannot tear myself away from the allure of scratching or that the blisters on my feet where the straps of my Roman style sandals were once fastened are now festering like the mounds of garbage rotting in the nearby roadside gutters, whose stench  offends no one’s sensibilities but my own, it is you I think of. Your loyalty, my followers, my blogging flock and for your faithfulness I do not want to disappoint you.

 

My fingers tingle in withdrawal as an internet connection becomes a distant reality, where electricity is like a lover’s unspoken promise: longed for but unpredictable. It comes when you least expect it and leaves just as mysteriously, unannounced, catching you unaware, on the verge of tears over a first draft that you pray will be saved. 

I send you all greetings from Mother India. Why, you must ask does she willingly go there? For the sake of this blog? This makes no sense.

I will tell you, though I do not know if you will understand. It is, of course, about love. The love of a place and a culture is hard to explain. But what you might understand is the romantic notion (in the purest sense)  of going back in time. Have you wished that you could climb aboard Jules Verne’s time machine and do just that, go back in time, to a simpler day, when time didn’t equal money and when no one was in a hurry? 

As troubled and complicated as India is, a trip into deepest, rural India, for the most part, is like going back in time. Yes, for some it is a journey better not embarked upon. Best to stay back in the 21st century. We worked so hard to get here, why go backwards, some may wonder. It is not for every one. But once you enter its seductive embrace, it is hard to leave. With all the awkward intrusions of this century like car horns blaring, text alerts beeping and plastic garbage being dumped carelessly everywhere, there is a peace in deepest, rural India, that for me, cannot be replicated anywhere else.

 

While I’m here it will be a challenge to blog, especially to post photographs because I am travelling without my own computer but for your sake, dear reader, I will try.

I thank you all for reading, liking and following. Your appreciation of my photographs has helped me to re-evaluate how I see myself. Just as the written word is meant to be read and I’ve long seen myself as a writer; photographs are meant to be viewed. You, my readers, have encouraged me to take this interest more seriously and helped me to fashion yet another identity. I am shooting lots of photos and hope to share them soon with you.

Until then,

     I remain,

          Yours truly,

                               Ninagrandiose

 

 

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Esteemed Reader

  1. pamela arthur says:

    Dearest Nina, thank you for delightful writing…Am at June,s for the 3day jewellry party, day 2, successful and fun. Lying in Ariel,s recently vacated bed and pecking away. Huge transformation here, furniture rearranged, walls painted and all looking good. Oh those bites and other little annoying itches!! As soon as I read your story I realized that Yelapa is my love affair, something I have not been able to ever explain…this year almost overcome with setting-up house inconveniences!! Rats,still..Ants, Crabs, Feral cats and Iguanas and everywhere Termites. Have not unpacked many bags..feel I have to have some cleanliness and order first..But I am so happy to be there and even though there are many changes it is still a wondrous place to be. Be safe my dear friend, sending love.

  2. I certainly understand you love for the country – and why you let yourself immerse in a culture that is both challenging and inspiring. That is exactly what makes travelling such a almost divine experience. I wish you all the best in the continuation of the trip. May you keep the peace and love with you. I wish you a wonderful new year.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Namaste Otto!

      I know that you, of all people, would understand my love of travel and how a country like India can work its way into your psyche. India is a part of me and I am grateful for that. Your encouragement to all your readers and especially to me has given the beginning of this year new meaning with a new focus. And life is so wonderful when you open your eyes and your heart to all that surrounds you. Thank you…again!

      Happy shooting!

      Ninagrandiose.

Leave a Reply

