Banana Chips in Kerala

Directly across the street from where I saw all the grape vendors  (see the previous post, A Grape Surprise) I spotted this charming snack shop. I was starting to feel peckish, surrounded by all the food in the market. I absolutely adore banana chips. My favorite are from Kerala. I’ve tasted banana chips all over India and they more or less taste the same everywhere. Kerala, though, has two different kinds: the usual plantains are sliced across the width, creating disk-like chips which are always tasty but I prefer the long ones. For some reason, the longer ones are a touch sweeter, though still savory and are a tad softer, though still crunchy. I’ve never seen the long chips outside of Kerala.

Chips Corner

Chips Corner

India 13-14 419

Savory Namkeen

I’m not sure if it was my mounting hunger or the eye-catching display that immediately caught my attention but one of the shopkeepers saw me looking and motioned for me to come over. He probably had no idea that I am very familiar with the kind of Indian snacks that he sells called namkeen. So he gave me numerous samples to try. I tasted them but I wanted those long banana chips. I only bought a small amount unlike the Indian families but these snacks aren’t in the category of health conscious and light. They are all deep-fried in coconut oil, an essential Kerala ingredient that does add to their yumminess.

I grabbed my chips, munching with contentment, eager for what treats I’d find around the corner.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in adventure, india, Kerala, photography, South India, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Banana Chips in Kerala

  1. I love the jackfruit ones! And sadly I haven’t found them outside Kerala either.

  2. Andy S. says:

    Always enjoy your posts and this one was no exception. Que vaya bien!

  3. torrentephotos says:

    ha. someone else who feels like mexico and india are home. no wonder we met up here. thanks for checking out my blog. i’m in miami at the moment…a different story all together. JT

    • ninagrandiose says:

      My pleasure…love all the interesting folks I meet on the road and in the blog-o-sphere. I’m in Mexico and with semana santa upon us, it is one big fiesta. Buena suerte.

Leave a Reply

