The Laboring Men of Kerala

I have to admit that the reason I was in this great market place in Kerala (see my previous 2 posts) was because I was “turned around.” I do pride myself on my excellent sense of direction (and you know about pride) but I mistakenly thought that I was walking south when in fact I was walking north. I wasn’t lost, just going in the wrong direction, which in this case provided a new vista. As a serious traveler, I live for new vistas. Smiling, I turned the corner.

India 13-14 422

Men in Repose

Clearly, I had left the fresh food market and was now in the wholesale food market. Open-fronted offices and warehouses now lined the street. Men sat around in repose, waiting for orders to lift the heavy sacks that they were leaning against.

With curiosity they smiled shyly at me. Their reserve and dignity was so appealing to me. Pleased and flattered, they don’t object when  I ask if I can take their photographs.India 13-14 423India 13-14 425

 Kerala is practically at the bottom of India and has a hot climate. These men are all wearing a sarong type garment that is often called a lungi. For me, this adds to their allure.

I am feeling quite satisfied with having bumped into this market. All is as it is meant to be . There are no accidents. In a few days I will be meeting up with my tour group and have work to take care of. So many stories all within a few blocks.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in adventure, india, Kerala, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Laboring Men of Kerala

  1. crazyguyinthailand says:

    😀

Leave a Reply

