Invasion of God Mobiles

God Mobile

God Mobile

India 13-14 105

 Girl, Well and God Mobile


Woman, Well and God Mobile

It is fascinating how India with all its magnificent diversity worships. No one is shy about publicly demonstrating the depths of their faith, regardless of their religion or even of a particular deity that they favor.  As usual, anything goes.

When this unusual vehicle  pulled into this small, south Indian town, I took notice. I think that was the point. I suspect that for those who are driving this altar on wheels around that the more notice that it attracts, the greater the benefits for them will be. Piety, devotion and faith are not something kept to oneself. These are blared over loud speakers, displayed in the backs of 3 wheelers and even painted on one’s forehead. This overt display of one’s religious fervor is in such direct contrast to how we treat these very same themes in the west.

The utter joy of the truly faithful’s abandonment in their worship is so beguiling. This is one of the many mysterious differences between east and west that I especially enjoy in India.

 

 

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in east vs west, Hinduism, india, photography, Religion, South India, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Invasion of God Mobiles

  1. Sue MacDonell says:

    Always enjoy your posts! Thanks ford sharing. sue

Leave a Reply

