Queen Turmeric

Fresh Turmeric

Fresh Turmeric

While strolling the back streets of Madurai down in South India, I came across this pile of fresh turmeric. I had to stop and take a photo because I have never seen turmeric sold like this with its leaves and stalks completely whole. I’ve seen it sold all over India and even in Mexico but always resembling ginger and looking more like an orange tinted root.

Turmeric is ” the Queen of Spices.” This title has to do with its long list of healing and preventative properties. I am not a scientist so I wouldn’t begin to venture an explanation as to how or why it works but there is such a long list that all turmeric can help with. Here are a few. It is a natural antioxidant, antibacterial, anti-fungal, anti-carcinogen and anti-inflammatory. It is also loaded with nutrients like protein, dietary fiber, niacin, vitamin C, E and K. It can help with arthritis, help control diabetes, reduce cholesterol levels and stimulate the immune system.

I have developed the habit of cooking with it regularly. It has a mild, nutty flavor and is the basis for the yellow coloring in most curries. With so many properties, sprinkling it into your usual recipes may add to your quality of life. One of my favorite uses apart from curries etc, I prepare a spice mix with some turmeric, cumin, chat masala, black salt and grated parmesan cheese and mix it into my popcorn.

In Gujarat, I’ve seen raw turmeric, thinly sliced and placed right on the thali. With plants  offering us so much, I prefer to eat my vitamins like this than take vitamin pills. Nature’s bounty is all around us like so many gifts waiting to be unwrapped.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in india and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Queen Turmeric

  1. I agree, Tumeric is the best I use it for everything from home made natural face packs to sprinkling on my salads. When used on the face it leaves skin with a lovely glow.

  2. Quite a tumeric you have captured here. And of course I love the juxtaposition between the spice and the woman’s sari. Otherwise I agree with your assessment of tumeric. A great spice.

  3. ninagrandiose says:

    Thanks, Otto. Juxtaposition is another way to spice things up!

Leave a Reply

