Village Commerce at Work

Miscellaneous Goods

Miscellaneous Goods for Sale

In the villages of rural Rajasthan, commerce is at its most appealing and human level.  Gentrification with its ever spiraling rents and desire to please the wealthy hasn’t arrived here. The pace of both life and business is slow. People take the time to catch up with each others news and to gossip in the warmth of the afternoon sun.

Cloth Merchants

Cloth Merchants

I imagine that these businesses have been in the family for many generations. They get passed on from one generation to the next. They, no doubt, ensure a reliable but predictable future. Most of the subjects in these photographs are not young men. Maybe the younger men are studying or have gone to the city to enter a more challenging field like technology. Women do not work. In the villages, it is customary to get married and to remain at home with their husband’s family.

 

Jewelry Shop

Jewelry Shop

Within a few short blocks all the needs of a small village are visible.

Laundry Man

Laundry Man

Curd Shop

Curd Shop

Not every one is fortunate enough to have a shop.  Artisans set up their workshops directly on the street.

Ornament Beader

Ornament Beader

When afternoon arrives and the sun begins to lower and the body tires from a full day of toil, no one hesitates to take a snooze.

Afternoon Nap

Afternoon Nap

What I see is what I photograph: an orderly, functioning village whose system of commerce provides for them. Perhaps my words paint an idyllic view but the pictures tell the real story.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in india, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Village Commerce at Work

  1. Sangeeta says:

    Great storytelling..

  2. There is something so very nice about how commerce takes place on a personal level – instead of a commercialized mass-production kind of shopping. I agree with Sangeeta – it’s great storytelling.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      This kind of commerce is very special but it very much is an endangered species with the invasion of mall culture and its increasing popularity, displacing “mom and pop” type businesses everywhere. This is what we call progress that spreads the corporate culture. Kind of sad from my perspective.

Leave a Reply

