Chillum Smoker with Camels

Camel Camp

Camel Camp

While traveling through rural Rajasthan by car during one of my tours, we stopped to admire this group of camel keepers. They travel around the state and make camp where tourists (mostly domestic in this case) congregate, offering them a chance to ride a camel. Here they are seen at leisure.

Chillum Smoker

Chillum Smoker

They are gregarious and not at all camera-shy.

Masculinity takes various form around the globe. Here, smoking a chillum epitomizes  the Rajasthani idea of macho. A chillum is a clay cylinder shaped pipe that is open at both ends. At the narrower end a stone stopper prevents the burning contents from falling out of the bottom of the cylinder. A damp cloth placed over the openingt acts as a filter and helps to prevent any cinders from burning the smoker. The chillum is usually filled with a combination of tobacco and hashish.

Ah!

Ah!

Parked Camels

Parked Camels in Rajasthan

A Big Puff

A Big Puff

Though exceedingly colorful and charming, these men are professional showmen and they smell money. After a few friendly photographs and smiles, we leave them in their intoxicated haze but we are the ones giggling with delight.

 

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in india, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chillum Smoker with Camels

  1. I am sure these are professional showmen, but you were still able to capture them somewhat off guard. Very nice, Nina.

  2. How interesting! What you see on the other end of the lens always depends on the lens you’re seeing through, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

