At the Water Tanks

Puja at the Ghats

Puja at the Ghats

Nearly every Hindu temple in India has a water tank. A tank functions much like a reservoir as it can supply the community with water during times of scarcity but it is better known for accommodating the worshipers with their bathing and cleansing rituals that precede prayers.

The tanks also provide the locals with a water supply for their daily needs like washing their bodies and washing clothes. I love this blend of sacred and profane, another example of Hinduism’s flexibility.

Washing Clothes on the Ghats

Washing Clothes on the Ghats

Having a Bath

Having a Bath

For the Hindus, the sacred water in these tanks is believed to possess many properties to cleanse, heal and release. They come as pilgrims to take a holy dip and be blessed with the assistance of a priest, who doesn’t perform these services for free.

 Gathering at the Ghats


Gathering at the Ghats

Hindu priests have been performing these rituals for thousands of years and charging for their services. When greed is not an obvious motive, this is an accepted practice.

With all the modernization underway today in India, the importance of faith and its dominion is still powerful and omnipresent, constantly reminding me why I love being in India.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in india, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

