Ode to Older Indian Men

Jagganath Devotee

Jagganath Devotee

Older Indian men are equally photogenic, alluring and worthy of their own post as their counterparts, the women, depicted in my last post are. Let’s travel around India and take a look.

Man with Hood and Gumcha, Puri, Odisha

Man with Hood and Gumcha, Puri, Odisha

Mr. Fix It, Amritsar, Punjab

Mr. Fix It, Amritsar, Punjab

I often bring my tours to Amritsar as part of an extension. It is always a great last stop before departing from Delhi. One of my clients was in a snit over her broken, prescription glasses. Mr. Singh came to our rescue. He can fix just about anything but does specialize in glasses. He was very serious, never smiled but delighted my client with the work he did.

Pan Eater

Pan Eater

Pan is a mild but addictive stimulant that consists of assorted ingredients piled into a folded leaf that forms a small pouch. The addictive element is betel nut. The entire packet is stored in the cheek and savored as it liquefies.  Over time it does serious damage to the teeth, as seen in this photograph.

No Problem

No Problem

Afternoon Sun

Afternoon Sun

Although this man is frowning, he didn’t object to this photograph being taken. I suspect that this is an expression that he frequently “wears.”

In the small towns and villages of India, just about everyone enjoys sitting outside in the afternoon sun or shade, depending on the season. Most people are approachable and it is always a fantastic opportunity to get out your camera. In the cities, the same is true but more visible in the residential areas. After all my many years of travel around India, I am still fascinated by this amazing land and its diverse population.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
This entry was posted in photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ode to Older Indian Men

  1. Those are really lovely portraits. You have captured the spirit of each of these elderly Indian men.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      India has definitely captured my spirit! Your posts have given me a lot to think about and pursue further as I explore my photographic voice. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

