Hindu Priest Blesses a New Car

Hindu Priest

Hindu Priest

When I bumped into this Hindu priest on the street in South India blessing a new car, I wasn’t very surprised  because I had already had that pleasure. See my old post, ” A Hindu Priest Blesses a Motorcycle.”   Nonetheless, it isn’t a common sight. I grabbed my camera and started shooting. This priest took absolutely no notice of me whatsoever. I think that he may even have enjoyed it.

He strung flower garlands over the car, hung limes with chiles off its fender, chanted prayers while circling it with sticks of incense and sacred fire, all the while ringing a brass bell and he even cracked a coconut over the new car.

Tools of the Trade

Tools of the Trade

Car Owner with Priest, Hanging Limes & Chillies Off the Fender

Car Owner with Priest, Hanging Limes & Chillies Off the Fender

Priest Blessing Car with Incense

Priest Blessing Car with Incense

Priest with Fire and Bell

Priest with Sacred Fire and Bell

The entire ceremony took less than ten minutes. The priest’s services are clearly more popular than I had imagined because even before he completed blessing this new car, another young man on a new motorcycle appeared, waiting for his turn.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in india, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hindu Priest Blesses a New Car

  1. Thanks for liking my posts.
    Please suggest at least two areas of improvement.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

