The Mysterious Smile of a South Indian Vegetable Merchant

Vegetable Merchant

The Mysterious Smile

I shot this photograph during one of those times when everything came together. I was in the right place at the right time and was able to capture the moment unobtrusively; that is the key and so very difficult to achieve: unobtrusively. This man never knew that I even took his picture.

The result does please me. There is something kindly in his expression yet he appears on the verge of smiling, as if he sees something that most people don’t and it makes him smile to himself. His smile is almost in the Mona Lisa category. It’s mysterious. We can’t quite read it and it isn’t a full smile yet. Will it ever be? This unknown quality creates the mystery and thus is the core of its charm.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

