Golden Triangles

Stuffing the Triangle

Stuffing the Triangle

I’ve always loved samosas, those deep-fried pastry triangles stuffed with spicy potatoes. I have to ration my intake as they aren’t in the “light” category but when I smell that luscious, sizzling aroma of the dough and the potato mixture wafting up into my nostrils, I can barely contain myself. Over the years, I’ve also developed a deep attachment to the tamarind chutney/sauce that is often served with them. And my resistance melts. I give in to that yearning to savor their crispy exterior and the delightful contrast of the soft yet seasoned to perfection potato mixture contained  inside.

So when I bumped into the large corner stall, Shahi’s in downtown Jodhpur, Rajasthan, I stopped in my tracks. My heart started to race and my pulse quickened. I don’t give in to just any fried street snack. I can’t afford to. If I over eat (and that is my inclination) I blow up immediately and regret it for far too long. So I narrowed in on this corner and had a serious look around, trying to determine if this place was worth the indulgence.

Everywhere I looked people were eating and clearly enjoying themselves. Satisfaction rang out, unsung in the air, loudly and to my ears (and stomach) clearly.

But this was nothing more than a stall. There were no tables and just a few rickety benches to accommodate the customers. And they didn’t even serve the samosas on  plates. Squares of old torn off newspaper function as plates for the triangles. My signals were busy. The wheels in my brain were turning. My taste buds were salivating. Yes! I must have one of these samosas. I went up to the counter and ordered one. When I wasn’t given any chutney, I asked for it. The counter man looked at me, deeply insulted. “No chutney, madam. Not necessary.” Oh, I thought to myself. Well, I will just have to see if I agree. Off I went to find out. I was, as often is the case, the only foreigner there. And although a few people looked my way with curiosity, most were too busy enjoying their own tiffin to pay me much mind.

One bite was all I needed. This was a heaven-sent samosa. The flavors were so perfect yet so complex. They were spicy, tangy, peppery and sweet, all at the same time. And tossed in were cashew halves! When the samosa disappeared from my oily newspaper square, I almost wanted to cry. I sat a moment but not for very long before I was back at the counter ordering another, and they were a good size. After my palate danced with pleasure, I pulled out my camera. I wanted to record this. It sure is difficult to capture the deliciousness of a samosa in a photograph but here is my attempt.

Golden Triangles

Golden Triangles

Deep Frying

Deep Frying

Stuffing with Cashews

Stuffing with Cashews

And I agree, the samosas are utterly delicious without chutney!

 

Smiling Samosa Chef

Smiling Samosa Chefyumm

 

The Crowds Enjoy Samosas

 The Crowds Enjoy Samosas

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in india and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Golden Triangles

  1. pamela arthur says:

    I love samosas. Hope you are well. Sending hugs.xx

  2. sheila says:

    That place is awesome! Craving their samosas now. Yum.

  3. ninagrandiose says:

    I completely agree, obviously!

  4. Dalo 2013 says:

    These look so good ~ one of my favorite foods are samosas and this makes me want to head out for Indian food tonight 🙂

  5. ninagrandiose says:

    Yes! Nothing like a tasty samosa to delight the palette.

Leave a Reply

