My Fruit Vendor: a Juicy Dynamic

My Fruit Vendor

My Fruit Vendor

I love to eat fruit, especially when I am in India or Mexico, where the choices are so varied and delicious. My favorite breakfast is a luscious, juicy, sweet, individually sized papaya with a splash of lime. When possible, I’ll eat one every morning. I always travel with a bowl, plate, spoon, knife and small coffee pot. Although it adds weight and bulk to my load, for me, it is worth it. I also tend to stay in one place for long periods so it is a convenience too. When I am in a situation where there is no hot water, I have the option to warm some up in my coffee pot!

I’ve been buying fruit from the woman in the photograph for many years. I am a very thrifty person. I don’t like spending more than I have to and I will steer clear of anyone that I suspect overcharges or cheats. This woman usually charges a good 15% more than everyone else. I happily pay her price because no matter what item I select, it is always perfect. Whenever tempted  by a salesman with low-priced papayas, they are never as good and often are insipid.

My vendor personally selects my papaya. She knows the size that I prefer and doesn’t try to push a bigger one on me. She gently squeezes it and sniffs it and deems it just right for me. She wraps it up with care in newspaper and hands it to me. Often, she tries to tempt me with an out of season Alphonso mango. Every now and then I give in. She introduced me to a fruit that I have never eaten or seen before that are only available briefly in winter. She calls them gooseberries. I suspect that they may have another name. I don’t have a photo of them but I adore this fruit.

She honors my loyalty with her personal attention and reliability.  When I asked her if I could take her photograph, she wasn’t enthusiastic but agreed. After about four shots, she waved me off. She’s a business-woman with no time for such frivolities as photography!

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in india and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

