At the Coconut Stand

Opening the Coconut

Opening the Coconut

In South India there is never a shortage of coconuts or bananas; they are plentiful and omnipresent as well as being utterly delicious. While on a drive through rural Karnataka, the urge for a sip of sweet coconut water was overwhelming.

Opening the coconut is no easy task. It requires strength and skill. In all my years of travel around the world and not just in India, I can’t recall ever having seen a woman doing the job but here she is, doing just that.

As usual, my presence incited curiosity. With a lot of smiling and gushing about the yummy coconut water no one objected when my camera popped up.

Watching with Reservation

Watching with Reservation

This lovely yet shy young woman remained in the background watching with interest. I kept talking, clicking and laughing a lot too.

Made in the Shade

Made in the Shade

The heat of the day was intensifying and this man had the best spot to watch the goings on.

Taking That First Step

Taking That First Step

I think that my joking around put everyone at ease and eventually the shy girl stepped forward and smiled into the lens.

Coconuts Galore

Coconuts Galore

This was the sight next to the coconut stand. They save the shells and dry them and sell them. They are later turned into various products like coconut fiber door mats.

Back on the road, the sweet taste of coconut water lingered. I knew that another roadside stand wouldn’t be far off.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in India and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At the Coconut Stand

  1. Alok Singhal says:

    I too have not seem women doing the job. But happy to read this post, we had coconut water in Australia too – my wife loves it 🙂

  2. ninagrandiose says:

    All over women are now doing things that they never would have even 25 years ago. This is the positive side to change. I hear about so many healthy properties attributed to coconut water that I try to drink it often. I’m with your wife! Thanks for the lovely comment.

  3. LB says:

    well, where can I start! Firstly, I love the energy in your photographs. Superb stuff. Looking forward to seeing more. Also the stories are just great – suck you right in. I am currently having a bit of a rebirth on India because of my family having lived there in ” ex colonial times!” ( sorry about that) Have lots of photographs and stories I want to tell but cant do it in the way you do. You are a superb storyteller….I would be interested hearing more of your Indian Tours… I hope to go later this year
    And NY – I shall keep in touch with this as I want to give a weekend in NY to my son for his 21st.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Your comment has made my day! Thank you so much. Knowing you enjoy my blog as much as I enjoy writing/photographing for it, makes it even more worthwhile. Would love to show you NYC & India! Keep posting too.

Leave a Reply

