Indians On the Road

Tight Squeeze

Tight Squeeze

It’s not only foreigners who take advantage of how diverse and interesting travel in India is but Indians too. Indians love to travel and they choose many ways to get around. Naturally, cost is always a serious consideration. The more people you can accommodate in one conveyance, the lower the price, right?

When I saw this group of women with their children packed into this two-story truck, a big smile spread across my face because this scene was just what I was looking for and I was thrilled to have bumped into it.

Packed & Ready to Go

Packed & Ready to Go

They didn’t look too comfortable though. The kids were “upstairs” and the older woman were in the front, seated closer to the driver. They were impatient to leave and I couldn’t blame them. I thought that they were just about to leave but they stayed there for quite some time, in the heat too. I suppose that their holiday was almost over and it wouldn’t be long before they would go back to the routine of their everyday lives which probably was hard nor not cause for elation.

The Kids "Upstairs"

The Kids “Upstairs”

The women checked on the kids upstairs while the women downstairs sat wondering when their over packed truck would finally take off.

Let's Go Already!

Let’s Go Already!

I never actually saw the truck take off.  After I took all the photographs that I felt comfortable taking (I actually would have liked to have taken more), I left but they didn’t.

I did take some other photos of the women that aren’t visible from this angle. I will share them with you next time.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in India and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Indians On the Road

  1. sewnupgifts says:

    I love these photos. I am in India too at the moment, and we have seen some amazing methods of transport. Sometimes I cannot even look! We went on a bullock cart ride yesterday, great fun especially when you get to drive.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Have a marvelous time in India! I hope that you are taking lots of photos too and will share some with us…Thanks for the comment.

  2. looneybitch says:

    What stunning photographs… they tell a story all by themselves. Love the colours..

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Thank you so much for your comment and on going appreciation. India is colorful and so many, many other things and certainly never dull!

Leave a Reply

