In the Rice Paddies

Laboring Ladies

Laboring Ladies

As I know very little about the cultivation of rice, I did a bit of research. What I found is that I know even less about it than before! Apparently, there are many methods of cultivation and many conditions required to produce it in. What I witnessed while on a hike in south India is one of the most primitive methods around; there is no machinery.  Bare hands are the tools. Each grain of rice is a separate plant. As you can see, it is back-breaking work.

All around are emerald-green fields in a checker board pattern.

Women and Egrets

Women and Egrets

Plowing

Plowing

The men plow the fields with the help of cattle whose presence attracts the egrets

 Women Working in the Rice Paddy


Women Working in the Rice Paddy

Rice is the staple of south India. The locals consume huge mountains of rice. It definitely got me to stop and wonder. The ways of old persist and so does our hankering for a satisfying bowl of rice.

 

 

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in India, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to In the Rice Paddies

  1. snapsbynina says:

    Nice pictures and interesting post!

  2. looneybitch says:

    Reblogged this on Just an Everyday Housewife… and commented:
    wonderful photographs – wonderous journey

  3. chinumeenu says:

    Beautiful pictures ! not just this post but other collection too.

  4. Rice is the stable food for so many percentages of the worlds population and it’s amazing that it’s still mostly cultivated the old labour-intensive way. Lovely images of the rice paddies.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      In the USA, where I’m from, we grow a substantial amount of rice and you can be sure, it isn’t done by hand! In developing nations, though, it is. It was a beautiful day, walking around those fields. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

