Painted Trucks and Head Load Workers

Top Heavy

Top Heavy

There was something about the jungle setting and the task of moving earth and other assorted debris in primitive baskets on to the heads of local laborers that caught my attention in South India. But as I studied the truck where they were depositing the dirt, my delight increased.

Painted Indian trucks are classic examples of folk art at its best and as far as I can tell, not an endangered art like weaving or embroidery.

Truck Art

Truck Art

Protection

Protection

When superstition doesn’t interfere with the rhythm and flow of one’s life; it, too, has its charms.

Final Phase

Final Phase

Once again, life and art coexist side by side in such a comfortable juxtaposition that we hardly notice it. But when we do stop and observe it, the beauty is there for us to behold, enjoy and maybe even smile at and of course feel gratitude that we are watching.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in India, Street Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Painted Trucks and Head Load Workers

  1. Love how you bring out beauty from nooks and corners of India!

  2. Gratitude to you for sharing the beauty.

  3. Juli says:

    I love the primitive village life that they still live for in India. Their ancestors are resting in peace to know the life they lived, some of their children are still practicing, this pure original beauty. I know this kind of feeling, I grew up in the village on an island many years ago. I now live the city life of London, about to start a happy life in the French countryside in a couple of months. But I still think of village life, I can be honest to say I miss it so much. And trust me kids of today in my village, they don’t enjoy the life I had, they all have technology taking away their health, but do they and their parents see this? I once talked to my dad about this, asking him if kids of today play all the games my friends and I played many years ago outside, the respond from my dad was “hmmm,” I knew straight away that things has changed. I have even started to write a chapter in the story of my passage from island girl to city girl, business owner, country lifestyle and country wife. I just cannot wait to publish my story as am still writing it.
    Please keep posting I love everything you bring forward about some cultures.
    Juli

    • ninagrandiose says:

      These are very difficult times that we are living in if you have the kind of awareness that you possess. I try to find the positive side in everything because it is there, right beside the negative. I hope I will have a chance to read your story one day. Thanks for your ongoing interest and comments.

Leave a Reply

