Indians Celebrate Independence Day in NYC

Patriotic Love

Patriotic Love

It didn’t make any difference that NYC celebrated India’s Independence Day a few days late. The turn out was enormous and the mood jubilant. Just as I arrived, the entertainment was well under way. A large stage was erected on Madison Ave., directly behind Madison Square Park.  It was impossible to get near the stage at this point but I didn’t mind as there was so much activity going on behind the stage and in the park too.

It was a charming co-mingling of Indian culture with a dab of Americana stirred up in the ever simmering melting pot of NYC. Things are changing very rapidly in India but for the most part physical affection is not displayed in public. The photograph above, Patriotic Love, captures these rebels embracing the freedom of the West yet also displaying their pride in their roots with the flag at their side.

Proud

Proud

Just like in India, many wore the colors of the Indian flag.

The "Independence" Maidens

The “Independence” Maidens

I got to see many of the different acts getting ready to perform. Their excitement was palpable.

Back Stage

Back Stage

 Attaching the Bells


Attaching the Bells

Everywhere the eye could see were bright swathes of vibrant color, quite unlike the typical drab New Yorker’s penchant for black and muted hues. Truly a fitting tribute to summer’s grand finale with all the flowers in the park in full blossom, mirroring the radiance.

The onlookers were just as interesting as the performers.

On the Bench

On the Bench

I was hoping to treat myself to some tasty Indian snacks but I was very disappointed. There were no snack vendors as in the past. There was free food. It looked like pulau and kulfi but the crowds and lines were too much for me to even consider so I wandered into the park and celebrated Indian Independence Day with a luscious Shroom burger at the Shake Shack, fitting indeed!

The message behind all our independence days is that they came at a very high price and requires cherishing  because in the blink of an eye, those hard-won freedoms can evaporate. Jai Hind! Jai NYC!

 

 

 

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in India, NYC, Street Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Indians Celebrate Independence Day in NYC

  1. Dr.V.Sridhar says:

    One thing I can assure you…..whenever I go through your articles I feel as if I am the one undergoing all these experience .I think you are blessed with some gift/talent/skill/artistry/power of hypnosis…….. whatever you name it.I am amazed of your extraordinary knowledge of other cultures.

  2. Nope, can’t go wrong with a Shroom Burger! 😉 We love all the different cultures celebrating their heritage here in the city as well, it’s such an amazing display. Great pics!

  3. Alan Brill says:

    We have the same pictures. We were the couple standing next to you taking the same pictures.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      I become so centered on what I am doing that I hardly notice anything else around me except for my subject. How extraordinary that we cross here and that you noticed! I have the feeling that our paths are intended to cross. See you! Thanks for stopping by, too.

Leave a Reply

