Crossing the River

Boat Scene

Boat Scene

The dilapidated ferry that I am waiting for to cross to the other side of the river in South India is insignificant compared to all the activity taking place around me. It is morning in this small port. Boats are unloading their catch. Fishermen are hauling in their nets. Baskets are brimming with fish arranged according to size and type.

My friends seek the shade and I go exploring, camera in hand.

Packing Dried Shrimp

Packing Dried Shrimp

I watch with curiosity as these men pile dried shrimp into sacks. The smell is acrid and after a short look around, I turn away.

Landscape in Decay

Landscape in Decay

In the distance I can hear the put-put of an outboard motor approaching. I join my friends at the dock where the boat will unload the arriving passengers. The tide is too low and we must scramble down to the water to board our rickety ferry.

 

At the Dock

At the Dock

We watch the loading of motorcycles and finally the little ferry pushes off, heading for the opposite shore of the river.

Smiling Boat Man

Smiling Boat Man

Across the river, a smaller, sleepier fishing village greets us.

A Smile Forms

A Smile Forms

The locals watch us but are not distracted from what they are doing.

Watching and Waiting

Watching and Waiting

Woman with a Black Cat

Woman with a Black Cat

This village is a stepping stone to our inland destination. We have a quick look around because our mini bus is waiting. If we don’t hurry, we will have to stand as the seats fill up quickly.

I adore these outings where the scenery is constantly changing, the people are friendly and Mother Nature smiles benevolently on us with calm seas and another adventure is just around the bend.

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in India, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crossing the River

  1. Sue MacDonell says:

    Always alway such a pleasure to see India through your adventurous eyes!

  2. What a lovely post! That shot of the landscape peeking through the opening in the wall is fantastic.

  3. Jackie says:

    always great photos…. and I am never disappointed. I love the way you tell the stories of their life and your travels

  4. Dr.V.Sridhar says:

    Which village is this ? Looks like from Andhra or Tamilnadu. Landscape in decay shot is superb.My favourite. Narration is interesting. Thanks for sharing your experience and great shots

Leave a Reply

