A Hindu Procession

Auspicious Gateway

Auspicious Gateway

All over India, religious processions are common place. They are charming, entertaining and sometimes even emotionally moving. While doing errands in a small town in South India, I bumped into one such Hindu procession. I was on foot and there isn’t a lot of traffic in this sleepy town so it didn’t interfere with my movement. In fact, wherever I wandered, the anticipation was building with the preparation of gateways constructed from plants and leaves going up. The sense that this was business as usual though, helped to contribute to the matter of fact attitude of most of the locals.

Curiosity

Curiosity

Waiting for the Procession

Waiting for the Procession

 

Suddenly the blare and crackle of a loud-speaker pierces the lassitude of the late morning. And the procession begins.

A Loud Call

A Loud Call

The drummers beat their instruments with the fervor of the devout.

The Women's Contingent

The Women’s Contingent

The heart-felt zeal and piety of the people in the procession is visible on their faces and in their purposeful stride. Their orange flags are symbolic of their faith.

Brocade Umbrellas

Brocade Umbrellas

I go about my errands all around town. The procession follows me as it meanders like a trickling tributary of an even bigger river.

Carrying the Deity Home

Carrying the Deity Home

The mood is serious yet joyful. At the back of the procession, a large and heavy idol of a Hindu deity sways precariously as it is transported with reverence on its way home to the nearby temple.

The Drummers

The Drummers

With my “to do” list completed, and the heat of the day upon me, I am now ready for a good cup of tea and a local sweet. The procession turns down the lane where the temple awaits the return of the gods and all is in order.

 

 

 

 

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Hindu Procession

  1. Great reading and beautiful images! Thanks for sharing!

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Always happy to connect with my readers and most important of all, to please them. Thanks for pleasing me with your comment!

  2. Colorfully India..One of the best place for street photography.

  3. Jackie says:

    its a great story. the pictures tell it all by themselves. You can see people waiting – a few more on the street and then the procession. A great build up told in pictures.

  4. mycountryepoque says:

    I imagine it is good to see traditional faith procession like this. I have seen them procession many times, they are absolutely interesting and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

