Turban Appeal

Regal Wrap

Regal Wrap

There is something uniquely alluring about a man in a turban. It may have something to do with how for a westerner, they border on the exotic. For me though, it is how a turban has the power to transform the wearer from an ordinary one to a very regal one.

I have written about turbans before so I will not expound on them but will post a group of photographs of Rajasthani men in turbans for your pleasure.

Happiness in Turbans

Happiness in Turbans

Turbans Together

Turbans Together

Bright White and Friend

Bright White and Friend

Turban Pride

Turban Pride

I think that you will agree that donning a turban has the power to transform. Do you dare?

 

 

 

 

About ninagrandiose

I am based in NYC but travel regularly to India and Mexico. Both of these countries feel like home. In India I scour the country in search of fabulous textiles to incorporate into my clothing designs. I sit back and let the ambiance and wonder of India seep into my consciousness so I can be inspired to write about what India is for me. I bring a limited number of people to India on exclusive and intimate tours of my favorite hangouts. In Mexico I take in the natural beauty that surrounds me and dance the night away. I constantly give thanks for all this and am pleased to share it all with you.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Turban Appeal

  1. Viktor Z says:

    mmm…The Donald may probably win with one

  2. arv! says:

    Still popular among Old urban population, it’s going out of trend among younger ones. urban people have abandoned it for jeans and tee!

    • ninagrandiose says:

      Yes, the all encompassing reach of globalization. Although at most weddings, the groom still wears a turban, doesn’t he?

      • arv! says:

        Yes, that’s a ritual. But in reality the turban worn on this occasion is usually pre-set whereas the turban is supposed to be tied manually when it’s being worn. The result is usually the groom is suffering from the pain. 🙂

  3. Beautiful, colourful, regal. Love it! X C.

  4. Jackie says:

    There is something about colours and your blog….always very vibrant. I love them
    Do the coloured turbans mean anything – such as district; caste etc etc ??
    Shame they are dying out except for traditions.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      India loves color so it is hard not to include it. Please take a look at my old post, Time Will Tell. It probably is at the bottom of this post. Here, I go into a bit more of the background of the meaning of the Rajasthani turban.

      • Jackie says:

        I will then…love the turbans. shame it more ceremonial now. ( how’s it going with Trump and Hillary? 🙂 )

      • ninagrandiose says:

        This Trump/Hillary thing is getting us all down…and is an all time low in so many ways. What is next will be troubling .

  5. I agree. They do transform. And you have captured some lovely portraits of men with turbans.

    • ninagrandiose says:

      There are so many ways that one can be transformed. Exploring them is very stimulating. Thanks for the compliment.

Leave a Reply

